The Book Thief – Markus Zusak ✶✶✶✶✶

book thief review

Now, this is my favourite book ever, my number one! This is the only story I will re-read as I do not usually re-read books. I would urge each and every one of you to read this book if you have not already, it is a must read for EVERYBODY before they die. I do not need to explain why I awarded five stars as everyone has their own favourite books and this is mine. The Book Thief is a story you will never forget and is the perfect read for those of you who enjoy young adult, historical fiction and World War II genre’s and would make the perfect read to discuss if you are part of a book club.

The Book Thief is set during World War II in Germany (not my usual type of story, but by now I should know better and never to judge). This is the story of a foster child named Liesel who starts to steal something she really needs/wants. Yes! Books and who can blame her? With the help of her foster father Liesel learns how to read. Throughout the bombing reads Liesel with her book in hand starts to read to everyone until it is safe to leave the air raid shelters. This is an outstanding and unforgettable story about how powerful books really are and how they can feed the soul.

I know it has been lucky enough to be adapted into a film, but I have not watched the film yet and cannot wait to get my hands onto a copy, so I cannot compare the book to the film. But please, please, please promise me you will read this book if you have not already! It is not an easy read but well worth reading! Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

