Best Left in the Shadows -Mark Gelineau/Joe King ✶✶✶

best left in the shadows

This is the first book in the Best Left in the Shadows series.
A Highside girl. Beaten. Murdered. Her body found on a Lowside clock. A magistrate comes looking for answers. For justice. Alys trades and sells secrets among the gangs and factions of Lowside. She is a daughter of the underworld. Bold. Cunning. Free. When an old lover asks for help, she agrees for a price. Together they travel into the dark heart of the underworld in search of a killer…

I awarded this story three stars plainly for the fact it was such a short story (80 pages). It was a good story though which I will continue to read in the next book and review! If you have been following my reviews you will know I am not one for short stories and I found this way too short! Best Left in the Shadows is easy to read, easy to finish (1 hour or less) and well written. This would make the ideal story for readers who enjoy young adult, fantasy and mystery! I am sure the next story will sway my views towards the series and I hope it gets better. However, I must admit that it has a gorgeous cover which is always an added bonus.

Leave a Reply

