The Secret – Katerina Diamond ✶✶✶✶

secret.jpg

EVERYTHING YOU THINK YOU KNOW IS A LIE…
Can you keep a secret? Your life depends on it…

Bridget Reid has a secret, one that could get her killed… If she can escape the man who is keeping her locked in a basement bedroom. DS Imogen Grey is good at keeping secrets – truths she’d never reveal to her colleagues at Exeter Police. She worked hard to get where she is – she nearly died for it. Now her past is catching up with her…
As DS Grey and her partner DS Adrian Miles search for Bridget, they uncover a terrifying web of abuse, betrayal and murder. And they realise that some secrets are better left buried…

I have voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book with thanks to Netgalley. Wow! Where to begin? This is the first book I have read by Katerina Diamond! The Secret is the second book of the DS Imogen Grey series, The Teacher is book number one. Now I must admit I do have a copy of the teacher but I’ve not read it yet! So I have read the second book first however, this was fine as a stand alone with only a few references towards the first book (which I will now have to read!).

I personally found The Secret took a while for me to get into as I was getting confused between all the switching of the chapters and locations, but I soon got into it and understood it all (especially towards the end as all is revealed). A brilliant story!!! With plenty of twists and turns to keep the reader engaged throughout. It is written well and easy to read and I will highly recommend this book to you all if you haven’t read it already! I loved it and cannot wait to dive into The Teacher. A well deserved five stars. I couldn’t put it down and managed to read it in 2 days! Amazing.

The Secret is perfect for readers who enjoy a perfect detective, crime, suspense and thriller. But I would recommend reading The Teacher first. I’m not one to usually read series’s out of order but I had to see what all the hype was about this story. Enjoy, I did.

Leave a Reply

